10 open-source swaps for $1,403 a year of subscriptions
Ten open-source projects against ten subscriptions one person could cancel: $1,403 a year if you replaced all ten. Every price was read at the vendor's own page on October 29.
00:00 Intro
00:25 Number 1 — Trade Journal
01:31 Number 2 — Nativ
02:28 Number 3 — SpeakoFlow
03:18 Number 4 — Rembrandt
04:09 Number 5 — It's a Plan
05:03 Number 6 — Punctual
05:59 Number 7 — Filee
07:00 Number 8 — DogSC
07:54 Number 9 — Talkify
08:50 Number 10 — OpenTodo
09:45 Still worth paying for
The ten:
1. Trade Journal — a self-hosted trade journal with a TradeZella import, instead of TradeZella Essential ($315/yr billed annually, as the page states): LuxAlgo/trade-journal
2. Nativ — a Mac app for running AI models locally; a loose pairing, instead of Claude Pro ($200/yr billed up front): Blaizzy/nativ
3. SpeakoFlow — offline dictation for Windows, macOS and Linux, instead of Wispr Flow Pro ($144/yr at $12/mo billed annually): AbhishekBarali/SpeakoFlow
4. Rembrandt — a free RAW developer and photo library, instead of Adobe Lightroom ($143.88/yr: US$11.99/mo on an annual plan billed monthly): thesnarkitecht/rembrandt
5. It's a Plan — a self-hosted issue tracker where AI agents take issues, instead of Linear Basic ($120/yr at $10/user/mo billed yearly): croffasia/itsaplan
6. Punctual — scheduling that runs on Cloudflare Workers, instead of Calendly Standard ($120/yr at $10/seat/mo; Calendly's page does not state the billing basis): CCCrafts/punctual
7. Filee — an offline desktop file converter; not an AI tool, instead of a CloudConvert Subscription ($108/yr: $9/mo month-to-month, no annual option; it does not replace the API): KnifeLemon/Filee
8. DogSC — a Mac screen recorder with automatic zoom; not an AI tool, instead of Screen Studio ($108/yr at the yearly rate of $9/mo): laogou717/dogsc
9. Talkify — on-device Mac dictation; a loose pairing, instead of Superwhisper Pro ($84.99/yr): tornikegomareli/Talkify
10. OpenTodo — a self-hosted to-do app, instead of Todoist Pro ($60/yr billed yearly): OpenTodoApp/OpenTodo
Two pairings are loose (Nativ and Talkify), and the narration says so. Three tools are Mac-only (Nativ, DogSC, Talkify). Where a vendor prints both an annual and a monthly rate, the annual-billing figure was used. Calendly's page does not say which billing its $10 reflects, Adobe's figure is an annual plan paid monthly, and CloudConvert's is twelve monthly payments with no minimum term. DogSC's README is written in Chinese. Some of these tools run on a model provider, API keys or hosting you pay for separately, and that cost is not in any figure here.
Every tool's catch is in the video.
If one of these saved you a subscription, like this video and subscribe. New AI tools, tested and priced, every episode.
#AItools #opensource #selfhosted #FUBARAI
27 views
Mentions
10 open-source swaps for $1,403 a year of subscriptions Ten open-source projects against ten subscriptions one person could cancel: $1,403 a year if you replaced all ten. Every price was read at the vendor's own page on October 29. 00:00 Intro 00:25 Number 1 — Trade Journal 01:31 Number 2 — Nativ 02:28 Number 3 — SpeakoFlow 03:18 Number 4 — Rembrandt 04:09 Number 5 — It's a Plan 05:03 Number 6 — Punctual 05:59 Number 7 — Filee 07:00 Number 8 — DogSC 07:54 Number 9 — Talkify 08:50 Number 10 — OpenTodo 09:45 Still worth paying for The ten: 1. Trade Journal — a self-hosted trade journal with a TradeZella import, instead of TradeZella Essential ($315/yr billed annually, as the page states): LuxAlgo/trade-journal 2. Nativ — a Mac app for running AI models locally; a loose pairing, instead of Claude Pro ($200/yr billed up front): Blaizzy/nativ 3. SpeakoFlow — offline dictation for Windows, macOS and Linux, instead of Wispr Flow Pro ($144/yr at $12/mo billed annually): AbhishekBarali/SpeakoFlow 4. Rembrandt — a free RAW developer and photo library, instead of Adobe Lightroom ($143.88/yr: US$11.99/mo on an annual plan billed monthly): thesnarkitecht/rembrandt 5. It's a Plan — a self-hosted issue tracker where AI agents take issues, instead of Linear Basic ($120/yr at $10/user/mo billed yearly): croffasia/itsaplan 6. Punctual — scheduling that runs on Cloudflare Workers, instead of Calendly Standard ($120/yr at $10/seat/mo; Calendly's page does not state the billing basis): CCCrafts/punctual 7. Filee — an offline desktop file converter; not an AI tool, instead of a CloudConvert Subscription ($108/yr: $9/mo month-to-month, no annual option; it does not replace the API): KnifeLemon/Filee 8. DogSC — a Mac screen recorder with automatic zoom; not an AI tool, instead of Screen Studio ($108/yr at the yearly rate of $9/mo): laogou717/dogsc 9. Talkify — on-device Mac dictation; a loose pairing, instead of Superwhisper Pro ($84.99/yr): tornikegomareli/Talkify 10. OpenTodo — a self-hosted to-do app, instead of Todoist Pro ($60/yr billed yearly): OpenTodoApp/OpenTodo Two pairings are loose (Nativ and Talkify), and the narration says so. Three tools are Mac-only (Nativ, DogSC, Talkify). Where a vendor prints both an annual and a monthly rate, the annual-billing figure was used. Calendly's page does not say which billing its $10 reflects, Adobe's figure is an annual plan paid monthly, and CloudConvert's is twelve monthly payments with no minimum term. DogSC's README is written in Chinese. Some of these tools run on a model provider, API keys or hosting you pay for separately, and that cost is not in any figure here. Every tool's catch is in the video. If one of these saved you a subscription, like this video and subscribe. New AI tools, tested and priced, every episode. #AItools #opensource #selfhosted #FUBARAI
@CuiMao 这是我的录屏软件😆 laogou717/dogsc